The Shadow-Self

I am your shadow-self. You like to pretend you don’t feel me orbiting around you daily, draining you of your energy, and thriving off your self-destruction. It’s just a matter of time until you finally admit it to yourself. You’re lost, and I am taking full advantage of that.

I see you every morning, looking at yourself in the mirror, attempting to tell yourself affirmations you don’t even fully believe. I hear every mantra you read aloud, but somehow I convince you to believe my truth. You trust me more than you trust yourself. You listen to me more than you listen to loved ones who know you best. I make you believe that being alone is what you need to rid of me for good, but it only makes me stronger. Before you know it, I will push you away from everyone who isn’t me, forcing you to dislike your every hobby, and you will finally be all mine.

One response to “The Shadow-Self”

Leave a comment